The end of the Midway

I was driving home one afternoon recently, down a long country highway, when a Ferris wheel in the middle of a field caught my eye. It was too early for any sort of carnival or fair, yet there it was. A very lonely looking ride, all by itself literally in the middle of an empty field. I heard later that they often bring them up to Canada from the states and ‘store’ them like this ahead of the fair season in Canada. Knowing this I figured it would probably disappear as quickly as it appeared so I waited through a few rainy grey days for a nice bright evening to go out and grab some shots of it. I parked on the side of the highway (like a bit of a creeper) as it was technically private property (though I couldn’t see anyone stopping me from actually going into the field if I did). And I waited for the sunset.

In my mind’s eye I could see these very dramatic back-lit photos, emphasizing the loneliness I felt when I looked at it, like some sort of symbolism for the end of childhood (….I may have been in a bit of a dark mood on this particular day!). The photos that I got didn’t quite give off that dark gloomy image I was looking for, but I think they tell a softer story instead. Perhaps I should have attempted them on a dark and gloomy day?

The other challenge I found was in editing them. I couldn’t decide how I liked them. Higher contrast, or softer? Coloured, or black and white? Every small tweak seemed to alter the story and the feeling and I was conflicted about what I wanted it to say. In the end I ended up with a bit of a variety, but maybe that’s for the best.

What do you think? Any critiques to offer?

DSC_0029 (3)

DSC_0022 (3)

DSC_0030 (3)

DSC_0034 (2)

Leave a Reply

