The Heart of the Ocean

Weeks 28 and 29 of my photography inspiration challenge were titled “Water”, and “Twirl”, both of which reminded me of my time on the ocean and all it had to offer.

Being a Maritimer at heart I’ve always been most at peace near the water, and though those trips are fewer and farther between due to distance and time, I make a conscious effort to appreciate them as much as possible. I never want to take for granted the opportunity to travel to this beautiful province since you never know how long it will be until the next trip, or if it will be the last.

One of my favourite quotes explains perfectly this connection I have: “The sea always filled her with longing, though for what she was never sure.”
~ Cornelia Funke.

So for the theme of “Water”, the shot below was taken in Newfoundland this past June at Cape Spear which is the most Easterly point in Canada. We were there on a beautiful day with warm sun, few clouds, and a BIG wind! Which produced some of the most impressive waves of our trip! I didn’t have my tripod with me (fudge me and my laziness!) but I laid out on the edge of a cliff face with my camera rested on a reasonably flat rock (and secured around my neck just in case!) and used the continuous shutter to make sure I got the wave from start to finish. This is one of my favourites from the series.

DSC_0831 (2)This next shot I grabbed at one of our most favourite spots in all of Newfoundland – Middle Cove. While you’re mostly protected from the wind inside the cove, the current and wind on the edges is still deadly. The power of the waves is truly amazing and as much as I love the picture, I don’t think it shows clearly enough the strength of this piece of nature.

DSC_0051 (3)
However, as much as I love leaving this land-locked province for the openness and fresh air of the ocean edge,Β  I am lucky enough to have daily access to a body of water much closer to home, on a much smaller and calmer scale! While the images above illustrate the mesmerizing power of water, the image below taken at home in my own pond depicts the calmer and more soothing form that I enjoy almost as much.

DSC_0153 (2)

And finally, as I was sifting through my photos, the theme of “Twirl” came to mind when I saw this image below owing to the shape of the shells scattered across the rocks, as well as the unique patterns on each shell.Β  I took this image on the beach in Whiteway (NL) where we had rented a cabin for a couple days of quiet downtime and beach-combing in the ever-quiet Trinity Bay.

DSC_0469

Perhaps this was cheating in a way, using a still image versus something ‘twirling’ in action, but cut me some slack – I’m still getting back into the swing of things!

Leave a Reply

