Wrapping Up!

Ok so we’re still (desperately) attempting to wrap up this year’s challenges before the end of the calendar year….and it’s gonna be tight!!!

In this post I’m wrapping up weeks 42, 43, and 44 so with a few exceptions we’re getting close!

Lets start at the beginning – week 42 “Framed”. This one I hummed and hawed about what I wanted to do but as I was sitting at my desk staring at my (3rd replacement copy) “52 Weeks of Photo Inspiration”, inspiration came on it’s own and …voila!

DSC_1906

Next up, week 43 and 44 are of similar styles. Week 43 was titled “low key” which is a style of photography where your subject is lit by a solitary light source. The source can be anything at all so you’re not limited to flash or strobes etc. In the examples below I used the light off my Ipad to illuminate Rio effectively, and a string of Christmas lights to help illuminate one of my favourite models – “M”.

DSC_0553

 

DSC_1348

In the Christmas photos, the shot I was going for was harder to get than I first thought for a couple of reasons. The first being, you need more than one string of lights. The images were still very dark and most were unusable as a result, however with more lights spread around her a little more or above her out of shot, may have helped reduce some of the shadows over her face and as a result the evidence of upping the exposure during editing.

The other challenge was that I did these photos on my own in a series of images of M for Christmas (these were the final ones), and her attention span and willingness to sit pretty was fading fast! Having a helper there to distract her or keep her in position so I didn’t have to adjust my camera each shot would have helped for sure.

Keeping with the theme of Low Key photos, my submission for week 44 titled “spooky” is below.

For most photos within the past year’s challenge, I have worked on them throughout the year as the inspiration came to me, however this is one that I honestly left until almost last.

I had intended to do a low key shot with a carved pumpkin but didn’t get a round to it at Halloween. As a result, that stupid pumpkin sat around my living room throughout November and is now under the Christmas tree. Suffice to say, I think the clock has run out on this one! So since it’s my challenge and all I’m going to make an adjustment!

Sticking somewhat with the low key theme I’m going to change “Spooky” for “Love” (yes yes I know we did love way back in February). Still, I have a good shot for this one and it’d be a waste not to use it!

Only 9 more challenges to post about, 2 of which I have done already, 5 I have plans for and 2 that have me completely stumped!

Stay tuned to see if this resolution comes together at the end or completely falls apart 52 weeks in!

 

Leave a Reply

