The Case for Being Flexible with your Art

Photography, I’ve learned, is a lot like life in that it’s not always going to go as planned and you just have to be flexible and forgiving. Art of any kind is not a perfect science. There’s no magic composition to create perfection every time you head out to create something new. A musician doesn’t write a symphony every time he picks up his pen, so as Photographers we shouldn’t feel pressure to create perfection every time we pick up our camera. There are so many variables that can affect your creative process. But through all of the bad days, bad shoots, and the many many many bad shots, you learn a little here and a little there that help you to grab something you really love. The art that you’re in it for. For me, this most often comes completely unplanned lol! I often find the real gems after I’ve unloaded my camera and am sifting through the photos. The ones that I thought were great in camera preview often have major flaws that I just couldn’t see there. And then there are pictures that I felt were so-so or nothing special, but once downloaded and processed I see something new. Maybe an emotion, a story, or just a style that I really connect to. You never know so you just have to go with the flow and as I said be flexible. And forgiving because of course there are many times that even after downloading my camera I find nothing worthy of keeping. Nothing that I really connect to, or as Marie Kondo would say – nothing that brings me joy!

You also have to be flexible and forgiving towards yourself and expectations you have for yourself and what you plan to accomplish on any given day. This week and next I’m going to have to be a little more flexible and forgiving with myself in relation to this challenge as our household has been off to a bit of a rough start this year with many days housebound due to weather and over this past week it’s been illness as our wee one came down with croup. So I’ve decided to flex my rules a little for this week (and potentially next!) as there were many days this week where I looked at the photos I had taken and was unimpressed. They just didn’t have “it”. And with everything going on here at home I’m running a little low on time and energy. My creative process is going to have to take a back seat to my family’s needs, so as an exception due to sickness, I’m going to sub in a couple photos from earlier this month that I haven’t used yet but truly love to fill in my week.

Enjoy!

14
Day 13- “Chickadee”
15
Day 14- “Backlit”
16
Day 15- “Working Space”
17
Day 16- “Healthy Eats”
18
Day 17- “Tip Toes”
19
Day 18- “From Scratch”
20
Day 19 – “Heat Seeker”

 

© 2017 Amber White, KoiBlue Photography. None of the contents may be reproduced in any form without prior written permission.

Leave a Reply

